Tricky words

CW_with_bookIn these fast-paced times of blogging and social media, rushing off emails and creating your own websites and more, it’s easy to get words confused when you are doing a quick communication.

If it’s just for your friends, then I’m sure they will forgive you if you get the odd word wrong. But, if you are running a business, or representing an organisation and you make a simple error, then you can lose a lot of credibility and affect (not effect!) the way your company is perceived.

“But I use my spellchecker,” I hear you say proudly. Sorry to disappoint you but that’s not enough.

Here are some words to consider. I wish I’d had a pound for every one of these I’ve spotted that’s been used in the wrong context. I’d be a really wealthy woman by now:

Compliment/complement

Council/counsel

Definitely/defiantly

Its/it’s

Practice/practise

Stationary/stationery

If you have time, look them up in the dictionary or on Google. If not, then why not engage a proofreader/editor like me to check things over for you? It could save not only your embarrassment but also a lot of money in the long run.

Leave a Reply

